God is Attracted to You

As I go about my day, I notice that my attention is drawn to the things that I find to be beautiful: the brilliant colors of the sky as the sun is rising, cactus in bloom, the quail scurrying about in the yard, a smile and a twinkle in someone’s eye, the stars in the night sky, or hearing a well-loved song. 

God is the same way.  God’s attention is drawn to that which God finds to be beautiful.  And what God finds to be beautiful is us!  God’s attention is continually drawn to us because God so deeply loves us.

This is the truth that keeps dribbling out of Psalm 138: Because God sees something beautiful in us, God’s heart is continually drawn toward us.  And because God’s heart is continually drawn toward us, there is no lag time between when we call to God and when God tunes his attention to us.  Thus Psalm 138 begins, “I give you thanks, O Lord, with my whole heart; before the gods I sing your praise; I bow down toward your holy temple and give thanks to your name for your steadfast love and your faithfulness; for you have exalted your name and your word above everything.  On the day I called, you answered me; you increased my strength of soul.”

Charles Spurgeon stresses, “He who counts the stars and calls them by their names, is in no danger of forgetting His own children.  He knows your case as thoroughly as if you were the only creature He ever made, or the only saint He ever loved.”

Psalm 138 concludes with that affirmation: “The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me; your steadfast love, O Lord, endures forever.  Do not forsake the work of your hands.” 

You can be certain that God will fulfill his purpose for you, and you can be sure that God will never forsake you because you are the work of God’s hands.  As the apex of God’s creation, God’s attention is continually drawn to us!

What is it that God finds beautiful in us?

Verse 6 answers that question: “For though the Lord is high, he regards the lowly; but the haughty he perceives from far away.”

What God sees as most beautiful in us is when our hearts are open to God.  That’s what humility is.  Jim Cymbala remarks, “God is attracted to weakness.  He can’t resist those who humbly and honestly admit how desperately they need him.”

Know that whenever your heart is open to God, God’s heart is drawn to you, with steadfast love that endures forever.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment